2019 Festival – May 24-26th

Meet our 2019 Authors

Mona Award
photo by Brigitte Lacombe

MONA AWAD is the author of 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize that won the Amazon Canada First Novel Award, the Colorado Book Award, and an Honourable Mention from the Arab American Book Awards. It was also long-listed for the International Dublin Literary Award and the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. The recipient of an MFA in Fiction from Brown University and a PhD in English and Creative Writing from the University of Denver, she has published work in Time, VICE, Electric Literature, McSweeney’s, Los Angeles Review of Books, and elsewhere.  Her new novel, Bunny, will be published by Penguin Random House on June 7.

Anthony Da Sa
Photo by Laura Bombier

ANTHONY DE SA grew up in Toronto’s Portuguese community. His short fiction has been published in several North American literary magazines. Anthony’s first book, Barnacle Love, was critically acclaimed and became a finalist for the 2008 Scotiabank Giller Prize and the 2009 Toronto Book Award. Anthony’s novel, Kicking the Sky, was set in 1977, the year a twelve-year-old shoeshine boy named Emanuel Jaques was brutally raped and murdered in Toronto. His new novel, Children of the Moon will be released on May 7, 2019.

Anthony graduated from University of Toronto and did his post-graduate work at Queen’s University. He attended The Humber School for Writers and Ryerson University. He is currently a teacher-librarian at Michael Power/St. Joseph High School. He lives in Toronto with his wife and three boys.

Alicia Elliott

ALICIA ELLIOTT is a Tuscarora writer from Six Nations of the Grand River living in Brantford, Ontario with her husband and child. Her writing has been published by The Malahat Review, The Butter, Room, Grain, The New Quarterly, CBC, Globe and Mail, Vice, Maclean’s, Today’s Parent and Reader’s Digest, among others. She’s currently Creative Nonfiction Editor at The Fiddlehead, Associate Nonfiction Editor at Little Fiction | Big Truths, and a consulting editor with The New Quarterly. Her essay, “A Mind Spread Out on the Ground” won Gold at the National Magazine Awards in 2017, and another of her essays, “On Seeing and Being Seen: Writing With Empathy” was nominated for a National Magazine Award in 2018. She was the 2017-2018 Geoffrey and Margaret Andrew Fellow at UBC, and was chosen by Tanya Talaga to receive the RBC Taylor Emerging Writer Prize in 2018. Her short story Unearth has been selected by Roxane Gay to appear in Best American Short Stories 2018. Alicia is also presently working on a manuscript of short fiction.

Amy Jones. Photo by Ali Eisner Photography

AMY JONES‘s first novel, We’re All in This Together, was a national bestseller, won the Northern Lit Award, and was a finalist for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour. Her debut collection of stories, What Boys Like, won the Metcalf-Rooke Award and was a finalist for the ReLit Award. She won the 2006 CBC Literary Prize for Short Fiction, was a finalist for the 2005 Bronwen Wallace Award, and is a graduate of the Optional Residency MFA Program in Creative Writing at the University of British Columbia. Her fiction has appeared in Best Canadian Stories and The Journey Prize Stories. Her new novel, Every Little Piece of Me, will be published by Penguin Random House on June 4th.  Originally from Halifax, she lived in Thunder Bay for many years before moving to Toronto. 

Andy McGuire

ANDY MCGUIRE is the author of Country Club. Most recently he collaborated with visual artist Kim Dorland on the artist’s book Same Old Future. McGuire’s second poetry collection, I Hate Poems but I Love Poetry, is forthcoming. You can find the Instagram part of his heart @andymcguire.

Photo by Elaine_Batcher

K.D. MILLER is the author of three previous short story collections All Saints, Give Me Your Answer, Litany on a Time of Plague, a novel Brown Dwarf, and an essay collection, Holy Writ. All Saints was shortlisted for the 2014 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and longlisted for the 2014 Frank O’Connor Award. She lives and writes in Toronto.

Nino Ricci – Alice Munro Chair in Creativity
University College,
Western University
London, Ontario

NINO RICCI’s first novel was the internationally acclaimed Lives of the Saints. It spent 75 weeks on the Globe and Mail‘s bestseller list and was the winner in Canada of the F.G. Bressani Prize, the Books in Canada First Novel Award, and the Governor General’s Award for Fiction, and in England of the Betty Trask Award and Winifred Holtby Prize. In the U.S. it was shortlisted for the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction and was a New York Times Notable Book, and in France it was an Oiel de la lettre Selection of the National Libraries Association.

Nino Ricci’s first novel, Lives of the Saints, garnered international acclaim, appearing in 17 countries and winning a host of awards, including the Governor General’s Award for Fiction.  It formed the first volume of a trilogy that was adapted as a miniseries starring Sophia Loren.

Ricci is also the author of the novels Testament, winner of the Trillium Award, and The Origin of Species, which earned him a second Governor General’s Award, and of the biography Pierre Elliott Trudeau, part of Penguin’s Extraordinary Canadians series. His most recent novel is Sleep, winner of the Canadian Authors’ Award for Fiction.

Ricci holds an honorary doctorate from the University of Windsor and is a past president of PEN Canada. In 2011 he was appointed a member of the Order of Canada. He has taught at institutions across North America, including Colorado College and Princeton University, and is currently the inaugural holder of Western University’s Alice Munro Chair in Creativity.

Anakana Schofield

ANAKANA SCHOFIELD is the author of the 2015 Giller Prize shortlisted novel Martin John, which was also a finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, and the (UK) Goldsmiths Prize. Martin John received Editors’ Choice in the New York Times and was named on many Best Books of 2015 lists. Schofield’s debut novel Malarky (2012) won the 2012 First Novel Award and the 2013 Debut-Litzer Prize for Fiction in the United States and was a finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. It was also selected as a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Pick. Anakana Schofield has appeared at writers festivals all over Canada, the US, Europe and Asia, and has written many reviews for newspapers, including The Guardian, The Irish Times, The Globe and Mail, and theNational Post. She also contributes to the London Review of Books blog. She lives in Vancouver.

Téa Mutonji

TÉA MUTONJI is an award-winning poet and writer. Born in Congo-Kinshasa, she now lives and writes in Scarborough, Ontario where she was named emerging writer of the year (2017) by the Ontario Book Publishers Organization. Shut Up You’re Pretty is her first book.

Ian Williams

IAN WILLIAMS is the author of Reproduction (Random House, 2019). His poetry collection, Personals, was shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize and the Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award. His short story collection, Not Anyone’s Anything, won the Danuta Gleed Literary Award for the best first collection of short fiction in Canada. His first book, You Know Who You Are, was a finalist for the ReLit Poetry Prize. CBC named him as one of ten Canadian writers to watch. He teaches poetry at UBC and, as of 2018, is a trustee for the Griffin Prize.