Saturday, June 20 at 10am 
on Facebook @AliceMunroFestival


A cast of unforgettable characters–citizens of the small industrial town of Kirovka–populate Maria Reva’s ingeniously entwined tales that span the chaotic years leading up to and immediately following the fall of the Soviet Union in 1989. Weaving the strands of the narrative together is an unforgettable, chameleon-like young woman named Zaya: an orphan turned beauty-pageant crasher who survives the extraordinary circumstances of her childhood through a compelling combination of ferocity, intelligence, stubbornness and wit.

Good Citizens Need Not Fear takes us from paranoia to tenderness and back again, exploring what it is to be an individual amid the roiling forces of history. Inspired by her family’s own experiences in Ukraine, Reva brings the dark absurdity of early Gary Shteyngart, the empathy of Miriam Toews, and the sly interconnectedness of Anthony Marra’s The Tsar of Love and Techno to a sparkling work of fiction that is as clever as it is heartfelt.

“Bright, funny, satirical and relevant. . . . A new talent to watch!” –Margaret Atwood

Maria Reva was born in Ukraine and grew up in Vancouver, British Columbia. She has an MFA in fiction from the Michener Center at the University of Texas. Her work has appeared in Best American Short Stories (2017 and 2019), McSweeny’s and Granta. She currently lives in Austin, Texas, and also works as an opera librettist. Her linked story collection, Good Citizens Need Not Fear, was published on March 10th.

to nurture emerging writers
       and to celebrate short
             stories in the landscape
that inspired Alice Munro.

Guest Authors at Prior Festivals

Caroline Adderson
Samuel Archibald
Margaret Atwood
Mona Awad
Saumiya Balasubramanian
David Bergen

Erin Bow
Wayson Choy
Lynn Coady
Eva Crocker
Anthony De Sa
Cherie Dimaline
Emma Donoghue
Alicia Elliott
Elizabeth Hay
Sheila Heti
Miranda Hill
Brian D. Jackson
Marni Jackson
Falen Johnson
E.K. Johnston
Amy Jones
Andrew Kaufman
Scaachi Koul
Kyo Maclear
Ami McKay
Scott McKowen
Lee Maracle
Andy McGuire
K.D. Miller
Lisa Moore
Téa Mutonji
Ruth Ohi
Michael Ondaatje
Heather O’Neill
Casey Plett
Alex Pugsley
Maria Reva

Nino Ricci
Anakana Schofield
Vivek Shraya
Merilyn Simonds
Sarah Meehan Sirk
Johanna Skibsrud
Heather T. Smith
Shawn Syms
Mariko Tamaki
Robert Thacker
Madeleine Thien
Souvankham Thammavonga
Jane Urquart

Ian Williams