Media Contact


Initially founded in 2001, the Alice Munro Festival of the Short Story originated with a desire by the local community to celebrate and honour Wingham, Ontario native, Alice Munro. The Festival and accompanying short story contest had a resurgence in 2013 when Alice Munro won the Nobel Prize for Literature. In 2014, a comprehensive plan was developed to expand the scope and scale of the event. Every year, the goal remains the same: to nurture emerging writers and to celebrate short stories in the rural landscape that inspired Alice Munro.

During its history, the Alice Munro Festival of the Short Story has presented multiple award-winning writers from Canada including: Margaret Atwood, Mona Awad, David Bergen, Wayson Choy, Lynn Coady, Cherie Dimaline, Emma Donoghue, Elizabeth Hay, Sheila Heti, Lee Maracle, Lisa Moore, Téa Mutonji, Michael Ondaatje, Heather O’Neill, Casey Plett, Nino Ricci, Vivek Shraya, Merilyn Simonds, Mariko Tamaki, Madeleine Thien, Souvankham Thammavonga, Jane Urquart, and Ian Williams.

Media Releases

Virtual Alice Munro Festival of the Short Story Features Award-winning Guest Authors
The 2020 Alice Munro Festival of the Short Story Cancelled
Acclaimed Canadian Novelist Announced as Guest Judge for 2019 Alice Munro Festival Short Story Contest
Women authors featured in 2018
Michael Ondaatje and Jane Urquhart Headliners of 2017 Alice Munro Festival

Follow us: