Short Story Contest 2012

2012 Finalists

"Youth" Category
in alphabetical order by surname
Bronte Cronsberry – And Brian
Yasmina Jaksic – Neverland
Rachel Loerts – Perfect

"Open" Category
Sheila Eastman – Do you Like Cowboy Music?
Hayley Linfield – Water Treatment
Royden McCoag – A Fish Tale

Media Release:  57 Submissions Received in 2012 Competition
Media Release ~ Short Story Competition Opens                                              Past Winners

2012 THEME:  Renewal

Entries must be typed using standard fonts such as Times Roman, Helvetica or Arial, size 11 or 12, double spaced on plain white paper.  The entrants name must appear on the upper right corner of each page.  Entries must not exceed 5000 words.  Stories must be written in English.

Mail one typed copy with registration to:
Alice Munro Writers & Readers Festival
c/o Box 90
Wingham, Ontario  N0G 2W0.

Email one copy to:

Deadline for postmarks of mailed copy and receipt of emailed copy:  August 1, 2012.

. Teen Category:  NO registration fees
. Adult Category:  $20 per Story*

. Clip a copy of the Entry Form to front of each story.

Winning entries will receive cash prizes as follows:

Adult Category Teen Category (13-19 years)
1st ~ $500.00 1st ~ $300.00
2nd ~ $300.00 2nd ~ $200.00
3rd ~ $200.00 3rd ~ $100.00

plus one ticket to the Gala Awards Dinner event on Saturday, September 29.

Promotions/Public Relations:
Portions of the winning stories may be read during the gala event on Saturday, September 29.    Winners agree to interview with local news media and video-taped interview with photographer designated by the Festival committee for use on websites and other digital or social media.

Property Rights:
Winning stories may be published in print or online at   or

Portions of the story may be used in promotions for future Festival’s.

Pre-published stories are ineligible.    Commercially published writers are not eligible to enter this contest.  The writer may have their story published after the Festival at their discretion.

Entries will not be returned.

Finalists will be notified by September 1, 2012.   Winners names will be published on the website after the announcement at the Gala on September 29, 2012.

Karen Stewart, Event Programmer, Huron Arts & Heritage Network

* limited Financial Assistance may be available.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.